Germany: Ratification of Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT)

Action type
Government of the United Kingdom
02 May 1975
By a Note of 12 November 1975 (with reference to the declaration made by the Federal Republic of Germany on ratification on the application of the Treaty to Berlin (West)):
"Concerning the application of the above-mentioned treaty to Berlin (West) the German Democratic Republic states in accordance with the Quadripartite Agreement concluded on 3 September 1971 between the Governments of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America and the French Republic that Berlin (West) is no constituent part of the Federal Republic of Germany and shall not be governed by it.
The statement of the Federal Republic of Germany, according to which this treaty should also be applied to Berlin (West), contradicts the Quadripartite Agreement which stipulates that treaties concerning the affairs of security and status of Berlin (West) shall not be extended to Berlin (West) by the Federal Republic of Germany.
Accordingly, the declaration of the Federal Republic of Germany cannot have any legal effect."
For treaties where the Secretary-General of the United Nations is not the depository, the records in this database rely on information provided to the United Nations by the depository States of those treaties. Some resources listed and/or hyperlinked on this page may be from individuals, organisations and entities other than the United Nations and are provided for information purposes only. The hyperlinking of outside resources is not an endorsement by the United Nations of the views expressed therein nor does the United Nations have control over the content or accuracy of information provided. No editorial comment is implied by the omission of a resource or website.